Welcome to Kent Sands

Kent Sands is now split into two separate groups:

  • East Kent Sands
  • West Kent and Medway Sands 

 

Support Meetings

We are a support group providing an opportunity for bereaved parents to share their experiences of baby loss with other bereaved parents. 

All our meetings are run by volunteer befrienders, who are bereaved parents. We do not put any geographical boundaries on our support meetings, bereaved parents are welcome to attend any or all of our support meetings regardless of where they live.

 

East Kent Sands

Ashford meeting

The Community room

Tesco Crooksfoot

Just off junction 10 of the M20

(The community room is at the rear of the store, and upstairs)

This meeting is held on the 3rd Tuesday of the month from 7.45-9.15pm. The dates for upcoming meetings are Tuesday 17th Jan 2017, Tuesday 21st Feb 2017, Tuesday 21st March 2017, Tuesday 18th April 2017, Tuesday 16th May 2017, Tuesday 20th June 2017, Tuesday 18th July 2017, Tuesday 15th August 2017, Tuesday 19th September 2017, Tuesday 17th October 2017, Tuesday 15th November 2017, Tuesday 19th December 2017.

 

West Kent & Medway Sands 

Barnehurst meeting

The Maxim Room

St Martin's Church

Erith road

Barnehurst

Bexleyheath DA7 6LE

This meeting is held from 7.30-9.30pm on the first Thursday of every Month the dates for upcoming meetings are Thursday 2nd Feb 2017, Thursday 2nd March 2017, Thursday 6th April 2017, Thursday 4th May 2017 , Thursday 1st June 2017 , Thursday  6th July 2017 , Thursday 3rd August 2017, Thursday 7th September 2017, Thursday 5th 2017, Thursday 2nd November 2017, Thursday 7th December 2017

Gillingham Meeting

,

Asda Gillingham Pier
Pier Road
Gillingham
ME7 1RZ.

The community room has its own seperate entrance, to the left of the main store entrance. Where a sands befriender will be waiting.

Grateful thanks to Asda Gillingham Pier, who are kindly allowing us use of the room for free.

We will be keeping our day and time the same, The 4th Tuesday of the month from 7.45pm-9.30pm. This group does not meet in December.

Upcoming meeting dates are  Tuesday 24th Jan 2017, Tuesday 28th Feb 2017, March 28th 2017, 25th April 2017, 23rd May 2017, 27th June 2017, 25th July 2017, 22nd August 2017, 26th September 2017, 24th October 2017, 28th November 2017.

- All meetings are free of charge.


More Support

Local Telephone support and information-

07951 454682   Barnehurst

We are currently experiencing difficulties wih our Gillingham phone. Please email, facebook message or call our Barnehurst or Ashford and we will get back to you.

07547 195791   Ashford

020 7436 5881  National Sands helpline

Your call will be welcome and you will only talk to someone who has, like you, experienced the death of a baby before, during or after birth. Sometimes we may be unable to answer your call immediately, but please leave a message and we will call back as soon as we can. We are unable to reply to calls unless a message has been left. if you feel more comfortable texting, that is fine.

The Kent Sands phones are manned solely by volunteers, we try our best to respond to messages as quickly as possible, but it can take several days due to work and home commitments.

Email support -

West Kent and Medway Sands - westkentandmedwaysands@gmail.com

East Kent Sands - eastkentsands@gmail.com

We try to answer e-mails as quickly as possible, but there may be times when it takes a few days to reply. Please bear with us, we will get back to you as soon as we can.

Information -

We provide access to Sands publications and books; these are available to borrow, subject to availability.  

Befriending -

The unique understanding of a shared experience.

Future pregnancies -

This can be a very stressful time, and we offer support to help parents though this. 

 

National Sands Forum 

https://www.forum.sandsforum.org/

National Sands helpline  -  020 7436 5881